Pain pain go away

Two weeks ago I had nerve blocking shots at 4 spots on my back. I have had back issues for years including surgery so, I was a little hopeful when my Neurologist suggested that I try some pain management alternatives and get the shots. I was very nervous about it at first but soon found out that I can be put to sleep while getting them so the nerves subsided.

It is now two weeks later, they told me that it would take up to two weeks to feel the effects I am sorry to report that they didn’t work for me at all. I haven’t felt any relief which is really disappointing. I had my follow up appt this morning and the doctor said that he didn’t think they were going to work for me but was hopeful I would get some relief. I asked him if there were any other options as there is no point at me getting any more shots… his answer in short was no. He is a very nice man and I asked him to be honest.
He told me to use my tens unit three – four times a day and to wear my back brace (that I got after my surgery) as often as I can. He also said to add Motrin to my daily regimen of Vicodin’s and all combined I may be able to shave off the pain a bit. I asked what he thought the issue was, considering I don’t need any more surgery at this time. I explained that my leg is starting to go completely numb again and I can no longer feel my big toe as well, all symptoms I had before I had the surgery. He said that occasionally when you have surgery you can experience back pain similar to the pain you had prior and since the site healed perfectly there isn’t anything that needs to be done. He doesn’t foresee my pain getting that much better within at least the next year. So yes, I am a little bummed. I was hoping for something ….anything that might help a bit. It’s just constant all day, every day and I never seem to get a break. Last night it was so bad I had to get up and take something to help me sleep along with another pain killer and I lay awake all night anyway but I digress.

I have a really good pain tolerance so I have learned to deal with it over the years just some days are harder than others…this is one of those days.
I will pull on my big girl underwear and stick a smile on my face πŸ™‚ After all I have a lot to be thankful about and there are much worse issues I could be faced with right?

Do any of you live with constant pain? Have back issues? Surgery? etc…?

Thanks for listening to my babbling today

xx T

Leave a Reply

