Crock Pot Chianti Steak with Chianti “Risotto”

My MIL gave me a bottle of Chianti that someone gave her at work. I don’t particularly like it, although I did try it but it’s not for me. I did however, have a new recipe that popped into my head that I couldn’t wait to use! I figured I would wait until we had some company over because there was going to be a lot of it. Our cousin’s Eric and Shelby were coming over and I knew it would be the perfect night to try it.

I started with four giant steaks. I seasoned them well with coarse salt, pepper, olive oil and placed them in the crock pot. Take 1/2 tspn Oregano, Basil and parsley and spread it generously over your steak. Peel 8 potatoes* for the top of the pot. Then cut up one onion and crush 5 pieces of garlic (personally I like to add a few cloves under the steak as well but it’s up to you.) Then add your Chianti, roughly half the bottle. You want to make sure that the steak is covered and is almost to the top of the pot. Cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8. Half way through check on the liquid, you may need to add more. I also suggest rolling the potatoes so both sides will soak up the juice.

Now onto your rice :
2.5 cups of Chianti (Or red wine if you ran out)
1/2 tspn Basil
2 Tbls Olive Oil
2 cups white rice

Start by boiling your Chianti, olive oil and basil. Once boiled add your white rice and turn your heat down to simmer. Cook covered for 25 minutes but keep checking to make sure that you don’t need to add more wine. You can either add more wine slowly or use the stock from your crock pot a little at a time which is amazing! (thanks Shelby for the idea!)

Once it is all done take a ice heaping helping of rice and then pile on your steak and potatoes (I know TWO starches!! Shhhhh, I hadn’t started my diet yet!)

Chiantisteak* a tip for your potatoes – they actually soak up much more salt than you think so you want to make sure that you season them with gusto šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

