I get more afraid the more they grow up

We all know that we worry about our kids all of our lives, but I guess you expect to worry about them more when they are little. They learn to eat solid food, learn to roll over, crawl, walk heck go to Kindergarten. All of those things make us, as parents, scared.

BUT what I worry about is bullies, kids that say mean things, think mean things and bring guns to school. It doesn’t happen everywhere, but you never think it will happen to your school or your kids. I don’t worry about it all the time, but there are times that I lie in bed and I wonder what will happen. Will things change for the better? Will things get worse in time?

Remember being blood brothers. My bestie (from when I was 7) and I became blood brothers. I don’t remember when it was, but I do remember it. Nowadays no one would really dare to do that with each other. It’s sad that some things like that have changed but there are a lot of great things too…

I have always wanted to be a mom, or a mama (which I am to J) but I did wonder just a teeny bit if it was the right thing. Then I realized that there are so many perfect, wonderful, dynamic things in this world and why would anyone want to miss it? Its apparent in Spring when all the buds push up through the snow and ground and bloom. In Summer when all of the young kids play in pools and run around screaming in fun until way past bed time, Fall when the leaves seem to magically change to green, red and yellow and Winter when individual snowflakes fall down to create mounds of magical snow.

What sparked this post you ask? I was watching a show that had a school shooting and besides crying my eyes out it inspired this. The world is a scary place sometimes, but if you think about the amount of people in this world versus the amount of bad things are done it had to be okay right?

So what I am saying is, yes, worry about your kids but worry about things that you can’t control or you will never enjoy them growing up. Instill good values, set boundaries but most of all make sure you never let a day go by without telling them how much you love them because to me when my two kids walk out of this house…they are taking my heart with them.
I started this blog mostly for myself, but I think that I may print it out into a book to put away for when the kids get older.

3 responses to “I get more afraid the more they grow up

  1. That’s all you can do Momma, just give them the best education and values you can. You cannot control the outside world…but you can help your children learn to react quickly to dire situations. I have 2 children of my own, and I agree that with all the violence, it is scary to send them off everyday.

    Heather

    • Thanks Heather,
      I feel like if all us parents stick together and raise our children properly that eventually all this violence will be gone. I mean think about it, if we all treat people properly why is there a need for violence. Its a silly ideal but I am sticking to it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

