Gym Rat

Okay that title might be a bit excessive considering I have only gone to the gym a few times. I have to tell Y’all that I am really excited though… I have always watched “The Biggest Loser” and couldn’t believe that there are people out there that end up loving to work out. I desperately wanted to be one of those people, but I didn’t think I ever would be.

L had a birthday a few weeks ago and when I looked at the pictures I couldn’t believe how disgusting I looked. I just wasn’t pleased with my body and how I looked in everything I wore. Something clicked… hardcore. I decided that I wanted to make a change, I wanted to get healthier and I wanted to start going to the gym.
I have a close friend that has been working out to become a Bikini competitor. I asked her advice and she said that I could go to the gym with her and she would help me. I was thrilled that she wanted to take the time to help me.
I got ready the first day and went to the gym not knowing what to expect. I am the type that is embarrassed that i’m not going to know what to do with the machines, that I will look out of place, yadda yadda yadda. I put that all behind me and went with no expectations. Two hours later we walked out of the gym laughing and me feeling amazing. I was able to keep up with everything she showed me (obv at a lower weight). I didn’t need to bow out and I told myself the entire time that I was able to do it. The next morning I woke up and I didn’t hurt, the day after that still didn’t hurt. It’s like my body was telling me that I was doing the right thing.

The next step was changing what I ate at home. I haven’t made a HUGE change with this yet. I don’t eat much at all which is my biggest issue. I have to get meal prepping so there is always something on hand to eat. I no longer use sugar, I don’t salt my food after I cook it and I have started eating veggies. I also, on most days, get my proper intake of water. So all in all I am starting on the right path. I gotta tell ya  i’m feeling good about myself. I am proud and encouraged.

Everyday since I have been doing something small at home. Squats while I make dinner, or listening to music and dancing like crazy with the kids. I can’t wait to actually start seeing the results. I am down .7 pounds this week and I know it will be more before I know it. My overall goal is like 50-75 pounds, but I am starting out with 5. Once I lose 5 I will go for 5 more and so on and so forth. I am going to run/walk in a 5k at the end of October and am hoping to do a Half/full marathon this time next year. I want to be that person that goes for a run to clear their head, or takes the kids out for a run on the heritage trail for fun. I want to be the mom that does yoga and can sit on the floor for an hour without feeling stiff to play with the kids. I am excited to be that person. Not to mention picking a dress off the rack and just throwing it on and looking amazing.

Exciting things are on the horizon people. My mind and body are finally aligned. I am finally in the place I wanted to be for so long and I feel like this time is different because this time I want it, Im excited for it and I can’t wait to get back to the gym. Loving life people, i’m loving life!

Thanks for all the support from my friends and family so far.

XX

T1567

Below is the QR code for my Etsy shop LanaBeansBoutique. Check it out I am having a 5% off sale!!

static_qr_code_without_logo

Leave a Reply

